Carrying a baggage

image

 

 

I was wondering why we always judge people who behave different or unusual. We always carry a baggage with us which stores all our perceptions and opinions. And this is the benchmark for judging people. We don’t realize that the stuff in this baggage does not necessarily be the supreme one. I have always believed there is no right or wrong. What is right to me, may not be right to the other person and vice versa.

“If someone isn’t what others want them to be, the others become angry. Everyone seems to have a clear idea of how other people should lead their lives, but none about his or her own.” ― Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

There was this one girl who studied along with me during my graduation days. She was very ordinary looking and she used a red lip color. She had just one friend and she was very happy with her. People thought she was weird, because of the way she dressed and behaved. And throughout the 5 years that I knew her, she was called a lesbian (she definitely was not one) and her friend was spared, because she looked pretty. She was always made fun of, teased, bitched about and every nasty thing that is driven by immaturity. But this girl was as strong as a rock, she couldn’t have cared less. And today when I look back I realize that it is not she who was a fool, but she definitely made the rest of us look like one. I remember, on the last day of my graduation, I wrote her a short message saying I really respected her & looked up to her and she just smiled and said thanks. She was full of courage and had the right attitude to survive in this nasty world. I wonder how tough her journey would have been in those 5 years. She was not just weird, but a star of a unique kind. 

May be this girl did not care what the rest of the world thought of her and  just wanted to do what she liked. Not all of us are gifted with this kind of courage. We are too cautious. What is more important to us is not what we want, but what others want us to be. Even if we wanted to put on a red lip color, even though we think it would look great on us, we might not do it. We might not do it only because we don’t want to be judged by others, we don’t want to be labelled by the rest of the crowd (who we might never meet again).  Though we want to do the same things, we just do it differently. One shows it off and the other just does it within the four walls. But we fail to realize what harm we cause when we judge people. So when you judge, you limit your boundaries and carry an opinion that the world should be only what you want it to be. Get off the boundaries and live in a free world and then you will be able to breathe the freshness of the air. Trust me the freedom would make you appreciate every creation.  Cheers!!

PS: Not sure why I chose this picture 🙂

