The Rule of Five

image

What are the five most important things that you want to do in life. What if there were only five things that you could do? Without these five things your life would probably be meaningless.  The day might be full of activities, but at the end of the day there might not be anything accomplished. What is the point in having dreams and aspirations, but not giving it enough attention! 

Ask yourself what are those five. Then sit back and analyse as to how much time and attention have you really contributed towards it. To me one of the most important things is to make it big in my social work career. To be able to work and learn more about working with special children. To be able to bring about some changes in the lives of people.This is my dream or whatever you call it. For this I should be reading. I should be spending time on updating my knowledge. Well, yes I do read, but nothing related to my work.  I know what would happen after a few months. I would be sulking over the fact that I am not progressing in my career. Yes, I would do that 🙂 But what is the point of cribbing then??!! I have not done my bit anyway and hence cannot expect miracles to happen. May be I can, but I need to be true to myself. I know a lot of people who say their family means a lot to them, but don’t get enough time with them. They are so caught up with their work that the reason for their slogging is lost.  All of us have the same amount of time. It is just that we don’t know how to use it efficiently. 

The rule is applicable for everything. You could use it as a part of your everyday. Use it at work (prioritize things at work), relationships, education, hmmm, I don’t know..  I am sure you can think better than me and try to see how it works. The trick is to spend more time on the things that really mean to you. Spend more time on things where your heart is. 

Also do let me know how it works for you 🙂 

Reference: TT Rangarajan

