Gray…

image

“The Little Boy and the Old Man

Said the little boy, “Sometimes I drop my spoon.”
Said the old man, “I do that too.”
The little boy whispered, “I wet my pants.”
I do that too,” laughed the little old man.
Said the little boy, “I often cry.”
The old man nodded, “So do I.”
But worst of all,” said the boy, “it seems
Grown-ups don’t pay attention to me.”
And he felt the warmth of a wrinkled old hand.
I know what you mean,” said the little old man.”
― Shel Silverstein

This morning while talking to someone I heard that a son wants to put his mother into an Old Age home. Well this was just one of those thousands who were being admitted in a Home. And if not this, then they are living alone. It sounded cruel to me and I am sure it sounds the same to most of you. Has it become impossible for people to take care of the elderly? Have we all become so selfish that we have forgotten all that they have done for us? I have seen a lot of young children who do not have any respect for their grandparents. I wonder if they are to be blamed or are the parents, because children learn from what they observe. I know the elderly can be quite tough and unreasonable sometimes. They can be extremely stubborn as well. But aren’t we all the same? I believe that it is the responsibility of the children to take care of their parents (girl and boy). Just because the daughter is married, does not mean she gives up on her parents and likewise just because son is married, does not mean he should give up on his parents. A great man is he who can create a balance between his mother and his wife. Old age is not the time where you realize it  is time to take revenge for whatever wrong they have done to you. I am not one of those who says no matter how cruel they have been to you, you still love them and do everything for them. Hell no!! I say that let them know when they are wrong, let them know when they are unreasonable, but do not give up on them. The love may not be there any more, but the respect for their age is what should guide you to do your duty. It is your duty, as simple as that!!! A lot of things in this world becomes easy when you tell yourself that “It is your duty”. I really hope as we climb the stairs of development, we don’t let go off our culture. 

