From there to here

image

 

 

How we got from there to here?

You tell me that you cant remember, and so ill answer it for you.

Though perhaps not the way you want me to.

We got from there to here by forgetting that we were always there for each other,

We got from there to here by chasing our dreams,

We got from there to here by not knowing how important we were to each other,

We got from there to here by believing that thoughts stronger than expressions,

We got from there to here by believing that reality is stronger than love,

We got from there to here by just letting go of each other’s hand ,

We got from there to here when we told ourselves that things were not going to be the same,

We got from there to here by becoming somebody else we had not known before,

We got from there to here by believing that we did not need each other any more,

We got from there to here by just not being able to believe how much we miss each other

We got from there to here by not letting each other know what it was to be together

And now I don’t know when I lost you,

And I don’t know when things changed

And I don’t know when I gave up on you

But

I know that I want you back

I know that I want things to be normal

I know I want to be able to hold your hands again and cry on your shoulders

And I know that I need you the most.

 

PS: I remember writing this on a rainy dull day, a couple of years back and just wanted to post it today.